UA-12921627-3 Jump to content

Class

Sheplover

Following on from the Tony Blair thread I thought I would start a thread on class.

Do you put yourself into a class? And how would you decide on your class?

I don't walk around wearing a badge, or judging people on their class, but if asked I tell people that I am working class, and very proud to be as my parents worked hard and saved for everything we have, and Ben and I have tried to do the same :)

I always wonder about working class vs middle class, I mean, both have to 'work' to live, so what's the difference as it is not all down to financial status is it? :unsure:

I am currently a student who works p/t in a supermarket and lives in a housing association property, but I remember reading that when I become a teacher I will be deemed middle class as I will be a professional - somewhat strange to me :wacko:

Edited by Sheplover

• Replies 114
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

As I understood it is your father,s occupation that says which class you are in.

That makes me back to the sixteenth century working class.Luckily have broad shoulders and happy to hold very one up.

But read recently that there will soon be an underclass of people not a nice thought.

I don't even think about it, I really don't see the point.

I don't really either, you just get on with things and it's not something that always comes up :unsure: But some people were rather insistant on a class debate so thought i'd satisfy their need :biggrin:

My parents also worked hard and saved as did my grandparents, and their parents too. I don't think that has anything to do with class. Personally I wish they'd worked even harder and amassed a vast personal fortune that I could now dedicate my life to squandering as a member of the idle rich, but sadly, they let me down in that department... :laugh: