UA-12921627-3 Jump to content

Pre-budget Report

Rudi

Have the budget changes helped anyone at all? The changes don't benefit me at all really. What was the point of reducing VAT by 2.5% when fuel goes up and so will National Insurance. I'm glad I no longer smoke and don't really drink. As a single, childless person I don't benefit from tax credits. I thought they might cut income tax but, no. The whole thing just seems to be giving a little but taking it back in another way - so why the huge amounts of borrowing? £500 billion :wacko: :wacko:

It sucks. I'm a small business owner, responsible publican, childless, low income but self-employed living in a rural area so need my car.

We'll be lucky if we're not worse off after this, though I'm hoping we'll be neutral instead. Certainly no improvements.

Don't see how these measures are going to kick-start the economy :worried_anim:

We'll be lucky if we're not worse off after this, though I'm hoping we'll be neutral instead. Certainly no improvements.

Yeah, I'll hopefully just tread water. I was hoping for a freeze or decrease of fuel duty as I rely on my car too.

Edited by Rudi

Wait till the VAT goes up to 22.5% to compensate for the cut. :wacko:

Yes I really can't wait for that treat :rolleyes: Makes shutting for 4 months to avoid the VAT barrier very attractive, despite the fact that would mean we couldn't pay our bills let alone live :wacko:

I am not sure that the reduction in VAT helps me ( self employed VAT registered on flat rate ) unless the rate I have to pay the VAT man drops by 2.5 % as well

VAT shouldn't really affect you one way or the other as a business - you'll need to charge less, but you also have to pay less to the VAT man? Businesses don't pay VAT as such, they just collect it, then pay it to the govt.

Stuff you buy as an individual will be cheaper.

Petrol prices will hit me hardest, where I live. I have no alternative to using a car.