UA-12921627-3 Jump to content

A Question About Clickers

reds

Ted. and I do competitive ob. but I only started training when I had him which was a couple of years ago now. Obviously being in that world I know that many peeps advocate clicker training and it clearly has great results. One thing has always puzzled me though:

What is the difference/advantage in marking a behaviour with a clicker as opposed to your voice? In my small brain, if I used a clicker, the only difference is that I click instead of saying "good" etc. I'm sure the answer's obvious but I did say I was challenged!

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

From my point of view, there are two factors. One, 'good' takes a while to get out, and in the mean time, the dog may have stopped doing what you want and moved onto something else. For example, ask for a sit, the dog sits, you say good, and while the message is getting from brain and out of your mouth, the dog lies down - you've now inadvertantly praised for a down when you asked for a sit. With a clicker, its a much shorter marker, so chances are the dog is still doign what you want when they hear the click.

Secondly, there is no emotion in the sound of a click. It is constant, no matter how frustrated, tired, etc you are with the dog. Its quite easy to put emotion into even a short word like good, which then feeds into the dog.

The click is a very consistent noise, if you think of how often you use your voice talking to the dog in so many differnt tones of voice it becomes less easy for the dog to distinguish what marked the behaviour, or what was part of the command etc. Its a very powerful sound as there is really no other sound like it so the dog is in no doubt what you mean, and its easier to get split second timing right with a click, for example when training heel its easier to click that split second one of the back legs moves.

• 2 weeks later...