UA-12921627-3 Jump to content

Obedience Shows

LurcherGirl

Dylan and I have been doing competitive obedience for a few years (three to be precise...). We upped our efforts last and this year as we had to train for college at an advanced level. This has made the world of difference, and finally, we have a break-through.

On 24th June, we went to an obedience show, and although we lost a few points, it was the first time that Dylan (and I) actually really enjoyed our round and that I could be sure that Dylan did what he was supposed to do. Mistakes always happen of course (e.g. he dropped the dumbell on that day), but until last year, I was never sure whether Dylan would do anything at all... If it hadn't been raining, he would have done even better, I am sure. (He hates the rain).

Well, we got a lovely write up by the judge; they loved Dylan. He also made us laugh when he came through my legs to shelter from the rain at the end of the round instead of going into the heel position. :rolleyes: :laugh:

Here's a picture someone took on the day (sorry for looking like a hoodie... it was raining :cool: )

DylanandVeraOb240607.jpg

We lost 7 1/2 points, 2 of which were for dropping the dumbell. I was particularly proud that Dylan did both the sit and down stay perfectly well despite the rain and therefore having to sit/lay in the wet! Quite an achievement for a lurcher, I'd say! :flowers:

Edited by LurcherGirl

• 2 weeks later...

I'll be at the South Eastern on Saturday, but as a helper as I am a member there. Will not get there till after lunch though as I have my own classes to run until 1 pm. But will probably be hanging around the tombola stall from about 2ish... Would be great to see you again.

Vera

Edited by LurcherGirl