UA-12921627-3 Jump to content

Website Help Needed

chrisjd

Ummm - that's kind of a big question Chris!

Maybe you could tell us a bit about the website and the problems that you are having with it? That way you are more likely to get answers from people who know how the particular system you are using works.

I am a website developer, but there are lots of web-type questions that I could not answer, because there are so many technologies and different sorts of software you could be using!

Edited by cycas

Ok if you are using free forum software I'd need to know specifically which free forum host you are using, the vast majority do not allow you to use your own domain name, rather the board is a subdomain of their hosting, thats so they can a] host so many free boards and b] control any advertising on them amongst other things and c] it's publicity for them that your forum has their domain address.

You can of course buy a domain name and many registrars will "park it" for free - some may even give you enough space for maybe 1 or 2 pages which you could use to direct people to the forum.

However, if what you are looking for is webspace and a forum under your own domain name i.e. www.chrisjdswebsite/forum then you'll need to buy webhosting and install and host the forum yourself. You may find a free host that will allow you your own domain name -- but you'll need to do your homework and really look into what's on offer.

http://www.webhostingtalk.com/ is the place to go to check out webhosts free and paid.

If you do decide to go with paid hosting I can highly recommend the host I use which would cost you £61.65 for the year with a FREE domain registration of your choice, also features one click installs of phpBb forum software amongst other things, plus allows domain email accounts.

So I cant have for example Please contact a staff member if you are seeing this message and link it to board so if people type in that it comes up with board?

Nothing stopping you.